Three

Standard

3621625591_dc0a8063d6

Today, you would be 3. Who would you be? I like to think you’d be rambunctious and precocious and full of joy. I like to think you would have kept that stink eye and would be using it well. I like to think your sweet red hair would be sticking out in all directions because you were so busy playing we couldn’t be bothered to brush it. I like to think that you would have a Twins hat like your dad and be catching fish in the river. I like to think you would be pulling the cats tails while they yowled and then snuggling them during naps because your little sister told you to be nice…and you would be…at the heart of it. I like to think you’d be full of giggles over messes and telling us bad kid jokes you learned from your cousins over supper. I like to think you would be asking for a bike or a football for your party. I like to think you would be running up and down the sidelines at practice and making buddies with the guys. I like to think you would be still happy to give your mama kisses goodnight and snuggles in the mornings. I like to think you would be full of peanut butter and jelly. I like to think you would love baths and tormenting your sister. I like to think you would be kind and like to help. I like to think you would be curious and unafraid to explore. I like to think you would love to ride on the golf cart with your papa and throw rocks over the bridge. I like to think you’d love stories, both reading them and telling them. I like to think you’d like frogs and mud puddles. I like to think you you would smell messy and sweet at once, like boys do. I like to think you would sleep with a baseball and be learning to throw it in the yard. But mostly, I like to think you would be here. With us. And three.  I know that you.  ❤  Happy birthday Benton. Love you, forever and always.

Leave a Reply

